Brandy: Wildest Dreams (single)

The last time I listened to Brandy was when Disney re-did Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella…when I was eight. I remember thinking that her voice was gorgeous, and I was vaguely aware that she recorded other music, but then she just fell off my radar. So I really wasn’t sure what to expect from her latest single “Wildest Dreams.”

Let’s just say that Brandy doesn’t really sound like Cinderella anymore. Which isn’t a bad thing, per se. Her voice is much more….synthesized. But still gorgeous.

“Wildest Dreams” is the expression of what every woman in love wants to say. “Never in my wildest dreams/Did I think someone could care about me…/I’ll give all I have in exchange/For someone who love me for me.” The lyric is simple, repeating this one theme over and over. And while repetition can sometimes make a song drag, it works here. Every woman has felt this way at some point in her life, and will totally relate.

And it’s groovy, too. Hip hop beat paired with Brandy’s silky vocals, and funky back up’s. The music wraps in and out around the lyrics, and winds it way through the chorus.

All in all, a good return-to-Brandy experience. A more grown up version than Cinderella, for sure. But a song that’s well put from start to finish. This single is from Brandy’s sixth studio album, Two Eleven, due to come out on October 16, 2012. (Interestingly, the album is named for the date Whitney Houston, Brandy’s role model, died.)

You can buy “Wildest Dream,” as well as the album’s first single, “Put It Down (featuring Chris Brown)”, on iTunes, and be sure to watch for the full album in October!

About Carly

Life is made up of stories, not atoms. And I like coffee.

Posted on September 1, 2012, in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment